Last updated: 
12th Jan 2016
Claim B Division Title
Jain Irrigation, Air India, ONGC & BMC 'A' advanced to semi final stage by claiming top two positons in their respective zones in the Inter-Institution Team Championship 'A' Division of the 25th Senior Mumbai District Carrom Championship 2015/2016.

This competition is being sponsored by Bank of Maharashtra, LIC of India & ONGC and is organised as part of Mumbai District Carrom Association’s Silver Jubilee Year Celebration. The event is still in progress and will be played from the 6th to the 11th January 2016, at Maharashtra State Bharat Scout Pavilion, V. S. Road, Opp. Mayor Bungalow, Shivaji Park, Dadar (W), Mumbai - 400 028. For more details, please contact J.V. Sangam, 9192234 82466 or 9198690 43327. This impressive competition is being held under the guidance of Shri. Pradeep Mayekar-President, Shri. Shivkumar Lad-Chairman, Shri. Arun Kedar-Vice President & Shri. Yatin Thakur-Hon. Secretary, MDCA.

Claim B Division Title
Tournament Format
There are 3 divisions, which are being played between institutions, fielding 2 singles players and 1 doubles pair. This system gives an overall strength of the team unlike playing 3 singles and completely ignoring the doubles sector of the game. Tennis and many more sports, has been successfully utilizing this format.
Competition Sponsors
Bank of Maharashtra, 
LIC of India & 
    ​Bank of India beat Mazgaon Dock 'A' 2-1
1) Nagsen Etambe beat Pradeep Chunekar 12-25, 25-7, 25-12
2) Umesh Kulkarni beat Sachin Ghatkamble 7-25, 9-25
3) Sanjay Nagaonkar & Abhishek Bharti beat Mahesh Labde
    & Dinesh Mohadikar 25-0, 25-0
    ONGC beat Sachiwalya Gymkhana 3-0
1) Sandeep Deorukhkar beat Jayant More 4-25, 25-5, 25-17
2) Ashok Gaur beat Bhaskar Gavas 25-3, 25-1
3) Naresh Rathod & Sangam Wasave beat Sanjay Warang & 
    Abhijit Patkar 25-7, 25-5
    Air India beat Director General Of Audit (Central) 3-0
1) Rahul Solanki beat Jitendra Kale 25-18, 25-11
2) Riyaz Akbar Ali beat Dilesh Khedekar 25-10, 25-5
3) Dattaprasad Shembekar & Nishigandh Zimre beat Dilip 
    Kale & Pradeep Baria 25-4, 25-4
    RBI beat PORC 2-1
1) Prashant More beat Arvind Narkar 25-2, 25-12
2) Rajesh More lost to Ashok Gaikwad 10-25, 3- 25
3) Mahesh Kuperkar & Ajay Amre beat Sharad Pujare & 
    Pandurang Tawade 25-0, 25-0
    Income-Tax beat BMC 'C’ 3-0
1) Surykant More beat Bharat Koli 25-12, 15-12, 25-1
2) Nagesh Kalamkar beat Anil Kadam 25-16, 23-25, 25-5
3) Deepak Sawant & M. Walawalkar beat Pritam Puradkar 
    & Satish Kamble 25-5, 7-25, 25-8
    BEST 'C' beat Bank of India 2-1
1) Rajesh Mehta beat Nagsen Etambe 11-25, 25-11, 25-8
2) Nilesh Parab beat Umesh Kulkarni 25-4, 25-3
3) Dilip Sandge & Hitendra Patel Lost to Sanjay Nagaonkar 
    & Abhishek Bharti 15-25, 11-25
Sachiwalay Gymkhana beat Reliance Energy 2-1
Jain Irrigation beat BEST 'A’ 3-0
BMC 'A' beat BEST 'C' 3-0
BMC 'A' beat Director General of Audit 2-1
MMC 'B' beat BEST 'A' 2-1
BMC 'D' beat BEST 'B’ 3-0
MBPT 'B' beat MBPT 'A’ 3-0
MBPT 'B' beat L&T 3-0
AG Office beat Tata Sports Club 2-1
Ravi Tech beat Post Office Recreation Club 2-1
Income Tax beat L&T 3-0
MBPT 'B' beat Mazgaon Dock 'B' 2-1
ONGC beat BMC 3-0.
In the Inter-Institution Team Championship 'A' Division league match Air India blanked Bank of Maharashtra to win by 3-0 margin. In the first singles ICF Cup winner & state champion Riyaz Akbar Ali blanked former State Champion Mahendra Tambe in straight games 25-4, 25-6. In the second singles Rahul Solanki prevailed over Kishor Chiplunkar 25-11 25-7 in straight games to make it 2-0. In the concluding doubles tie Dattaprasad Shembekar & Nishigandha Zimre overcame Vijay Marpeeli & Abhay Mayekar 25-17, 5-25, 25-20 to give a 3-0 victory to Air India.

In another league match, Jain Irrigation easily overcame BMC Sports Club to win by 3-0 margin. Former National Champion Yogesh Dhongare overcame Girish Tambe in straight games 25-10, 25-20, yet another former State Champion Pankaj Pawar prevailed over Santosh Jadhav 25-5, 25-17 and in the doubles tie Mohd. Sajid & Manu Baria overcame Rajesh Khedekar & Rajesh Kamble 25-19, 25-9 to cap a 3-0 win for Jain Irrigation.

In another match, Bank of Maharashtra overcame the stiff challenge from Director General of Audit (Central) to win by 2-1 margin. Mahendra Tambe blanked Jitendra Kale 25-12, 25-5, Dilesh Khedekar of DG Audit prevailed over Abhay Mayekar 25-5, 25-6 in straight games to tie the game 1-1 and in the concluding doubles tie Vijay Marpelli & Kishor Chiplunkar overcame Dilip Kale & Pradeep Baria 25-11, 25-12 to give a 2-1 win to BOM.

In Group B, LIC of India blanked Central Railway Institute by 3-0 margin to claim the division title. Ritesh Ozha overcame Navin Patil 25-7, 25-23, Pramod Jadhav prevailed over Raoji Gawade in a thrilling three game battle 14-25, 25-6, 25-13 and in the doubles tie Rajesh Rane & Anil Chorge overcame Yatin Thakur & Pravin Patil 25-18, 15-25, 25-0 in a three game encounter to give LIC of India a 3-0 victory and the title.

Reserve Bank of India prevailed over Post Office Recreation Club by 2-1 margin. In the first Prashant More easily overcame Arvind Narkar 25-2, 25-12, however, Ashok Gaikwad overcame Rajesh More 25-10, 25-3 to tie the match, and in the concluding doubles tie Mahesh Kuperkar & Ajay Amre blanked Sharad Pujare & Pandurang Tawade 25-0, 25-0 to give a 2-1 victory to Reserve Bank of India.

In the C Division, Income Tax Sports Club prevailed over BMC 'C' Team by 3-0 margin. Suryakant More overcame Bharat Koli in a thrilling three game encounter 25-12, 15-25, 25-1, Nagesh Kalmkar defeated Anil Kadam in another three game encounter 25-16, 23-25, 25-5 and in the doubles tie Deepak Sawant & M. Walawalkark had to fight it out with Pritam Puradkar & Satish Kamble 25-5, 7-25, 25-8 for a victory, giving Income-Tax Sports Club a hard fought 3-0 win.

In some other matches, Income-Tax Sports Club blanked L & T by 3-0, Mumbai Port Trust 'B' prevailed over Mazgaon Dock 'B' Sports Club 2-1, Bank of India prevailed over Mazgaon Dock 'A' 2-1, ONGC blanked Sachivalya Gymkhana by 3-0 margin and BMC 'A' beat BEST 'C' 3-0.

Since the inception of the championship, which has some super stars competing and very well known to the carrom fraternity, there has been 13 white break to finishes and 5 black to finishes accomplished. A unique feature of the tournament is that it’s played on carrom boards manufactured by different manufacturers, namely Precise Elegant, Surco and Synco, with Synco carrom men. International Umpire Parvinder Singh (Mumbai) is the Chief Referee for this event and will be ably assisted by Shri. Sanjay Barve, another well known umpire.

Earlier the Tournament was inaugurated by Chief Guest Shri. Atul Joshi & Mrs. Renuka Anant Raman Chief Managers Bank of Maharashtra. On this occasion Shri Pradeep Mayekar-President, Vice-President Shri Deepak Patil, Shri Arun Kedar, Yatin Thakur-Gen Secretary, Shri Dashrath Yelve, Rudranath Bagve, S. A. D. Khan-Asst. Secretaries were present.

LIC Claims B Division Title