Last updated: 
12th Jan 2016
Please note that this write up has been edited by Francis D'Costa from the email received from Mr. Sangam. My apologies if there are any errors in the information stated above. Also note that we can upload info from any organization wishing to promote this game.    
     Jain Irrigation secured the A division Inter-Institutional Team Championship title by defeating yet another formidable team in Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) by a 3-0 margin. Yogesh Dhongade defeated Ahok Gaur 18-25, 25-10, 25-15 in the first singles, whilst Pankaj Pawar overcame Sandeep Deorukhkar 25-8, 0-25, 25-8 in the second singles match to give his team a 2-0 lead. Manu Baria & Mohd. Sajid defeated Naresh Rathod & Sangam Vasave 25-5, 25-10 to complete a clean sweep. 
JAIN Irrigation
JAIN Irrigation
Inter-Club Team Championship-Semi-Final
MLWB, Naigaon ‘A' beat Worli Sports Club 2-1
Anant Gayatry lost to Faheem Kazi 25-12, 14-25, 11-25, Vinit Dadarkar bt. Sunil Dabholkar 25-9, 25-3 and Alankar Naik & Santosh Pujari bt. Vilas Zite & Girish Bhandari 25-7, 11-25, 25-17
Shivtara Sports Club beat Vijay Carrom Club 3-0
Vivek Bharati bt Vinod Sawant 25-0, 25-0, Manoj Kamble bt Sanjay Mohite 25-2, 25-17 and Faizan Ansari & Francis Fernandes bt. Rajesh Gaikwad & Rajesh Kadam 15-25, 25-9, 25-0.
     In the C Division, Income Tax claimed the title by scoring a fluent 3-0 victory over Accountant General Office (AG Office).  Nagesh Kalamkar beat Prashant More 25-14, 25-2, Suryankant More overcame Madhukar Khande 25-5, 16-25, 25-16 and in the doubles match, Dattaprasad Shembekar & Nishigandha Zimre beat Sandeep Mishal & Maruti Marchande 25-8, 25-0.
     In the Inter Club Team Championship, Team Shivtara had to fight tooth and nail against Maharashtra Labour Welfare Board to win 3-0. ​In the first singles, Manoj Kamble overcame former state champion, Anant Gaytry in a thrilling three game encounter 14-25, 25-12, 25-10. In the second singles, Vivek Bharti outplayed Vinit Dadarkar 18-25, 25-0, 25-1 to take a winning 2-0 lead. In the concluding doubles tie, Francis Fernandes and Faizan Ansari overcame Alankar Naik and Santosh Pujari in a three game encounter 9-25, 25-7, 25-7 to claim the title for first time.
Income Tax Team
     Former state and national champion Sangeeta Chandorkar of RBI, former state champion Pankaj Pawar and former national champion Suresh Kajrolkar won the Women, Men & Veteran singles titles respectively in the 25th Senior Mumbai District Carrom Championship. 
​     ONGCs former Asian and state champion Sandeep Deorukhkar tumbled at the final hurdle loosing to Jain Irrigation's former state champion Pankaj Pawar in the final. Pankaj with a confident performance recorded a victory over Sandeep in a thrilling three game encounter. In the first game, Pankaj played aggressively and claim the first game 25-10. In the second game, Sandeep came back fighting and subdued Pankaj to win 25-16. In the deciding game, Pankaj playing defensively to get to take a lead of 15-10 after 7 boards. Pankaj had the last break in his favor and with an excellent finish secured 10 points and ultimately winning the game 25-10 and the tile, along with prize money of Rs. 25,000. Sandeep earned Rs. 11,000 for his second place finish. 
​     Earlier in the semis, Pankaj prevailed over Yogesh Dhongde of Jain Irrigation 25-16, 6-25, 25-9 and Sandeep knocked out ICF cup champion Riyaz Akbar Ali of Air India 19-25, 25-13, 25-11 in a thrilling three game encounter. 
​     In the women singles final former national & state champion Sangeeta Chandorkar of Reserve Bank of India overcame upcoming Nilam Ghodke of Bank of India in a straight games encounter 25-20, 25-17 and claimed the title and cash prize of Rs. 11,000. Nilam won Rs. 5,000 for finishing second. 
     In the Veteran Singles final, former national champion Suresh Kajrolkar knocked out Sudhakar Shirke of Friends Carrom Club 25-14, 25-10 in straight games duel to win Rs.5000. 
​    27 Break to finishes and 8 Black to finishes were recorded during the competition, reflecting the high standard displayed by players competing.  
     Present for the prize distribution ceremony were Shri. Sunil Ganacharya, Member BEST Committee, Shri. Pradeep Mayekar, President, Mumbai District Carrom Association, V. President Shri. Deepak Patil, V. President Shri. Arun Kedar, Shri Yatin Thakur, Secretary, MDCA and Shri. Abhay Hadap.  
Some men singles results: 
Dinesh Mahadik (BEST) bt. Mahesh Kuperkar (Reserve Bank) 15-25, 25-16, 25-3
Sandeep Tupat (SS Group) bt. Raoji Gawade (Central Railway) 25-1, 5-25, 25-11
Vinod Kubal (MBPT) bt. Amit Desai (DKCC) 10-25, 25-4, 25-9
Sangam Vasave (ONGC) bt. Dilip Sandge (BEST)16-25, 25-8, 25-14
Anil Shinde (MBPT) bt. Hitendra Patel (BEST) 14-25, 25-15, 25-8
Santosh Pawaskar (SS Group) bt. Sushant Vairat (Ankur SC) 6-25, 25-5, 25-9
Sanjay Mohite (Vijay CC) bt. Mahesh Malkar (SS Group) 11-25, 25-7, 25-11
Pramod Jadhav (BMC) bt. Nikhil Bhadricha (PM Bath) 20-25, 25-1, 25-0
Shankar Sawardekar (Ashlay CC) bt Baliram Kairamkonda (LIC) 25-13, 14-25, 25-10.
Pankaj Pawar (Jain) bt Vikas Dharia (BMC) 13-25, 25-17, 25-0.
Some women singles results: 
Sangeeta Chandorkar (RBI) bt. Ayesha Mohd. (Jain Irrigation) 25-6, 25-5
Nilam Ghodke (BOI) bt. Anjali Siripuram (LIC) 25-10, 8-25, 25-7
Urmila Shendge (RBI) bt. Vatsala Kamble (SS Group) 25-0, 25-0
Anupama Kedar (BOI) bt. Malti Kelkar (Income Tax) 25-7, 25-4
Sangeeta Chandorkar (RBI) bt Ayesha Mohd. (Jain Irrigation) 25-6,  25-15
Nilam Ghodke (BOI) bt Anjali Siripuram (LIC) 25-10, 8-25, 25-7.
Some veteran singles results:
Yatin Thakur (Central Railway) bt Pramod Mayekar (Sachivalaya Gymkhana) 25-10, 25-4
Pradeep Bhide (Shivaji Park Gymkhana) bt Pradeep Khot (Shivtara SC) 25-8, 7-25, 25-0.

Above, winners Pankaj, Sangeeta and Suresh (L to R).  Below with dignitaries.
Madhukar Kelkar, Carrom Canada Executive with competition winner Pankaj Pawar
Jain Irrigation Champs