World number 4, Riyaz Akbar Ali and second seeded Kajal Kumari of India claimed the Men and Women singles title in the 7th International Federation Cup Carrom Tournament. The tournament was organized by All India Carrom Federation under authority of International Carrom Federation at Tyagaraja Sports Complex Stadium, New Delhi. 

     This Prestigious Tournament sponsored by LIC of India was conducted under the aegis of International Carrom Federation.

     In the men singles final, Riyaz of India showed plenty of resilience and strong fighting qualities to overcome a strong challenge from the World Champion Nishantha Fernando of Sri Lanka in a keenly contested encounter 25-22, 25-10 to annex the men singles title. In the first game, Riyaz displayed an attacking game and excellent cut shots and won 25-22 in 8 boards. In second game, Riyaz scored a brilliant white slam and won 25-10 and won his first International title.
In the semis, Riyaz overcame a stiff challenge from his teammate Sandeep Deorukhkar and won a thrilling three game encounter 15-25, 25-22, 25-22. In yet another thrilling semi, Nishantha overcame Champion of Champion, K. Srinivas of India 25-15, 14-25, 25-24 to enter the final.

Emerge Champions
Riyaz and Kajal
Other Results in brief:
Women Singles-Quarter Finals: Kajal Kumari beat Joseph Roshita (Sri Lanka) 25-10, 25-23, Arosha beat Debajani Tamuli (India) 25-22, 1-25, 25-4, Rashmi Kumari beat Lakmali (Sri Lanka) 25-15, 25-13, Tuba Sehar beat Madhushikha (Sri Lanka) 25-13, 25-6
Men Singles-Quarter Finals: Nishantha Fernando beat Yogesh Pardeshi (India) 25-14, 25-22, K.Srinivas beat Himayat (Bangladesh) 25-3, 25-8, Riyaz Akbar Ali beat Pierre Dubios (France) 25-4, 25-7 and Sandeep Deorukhkar beat Chamil Cooray (Sri Lanka) 25-5, 25-20
Men Team Championship Final: India beat Sri Lanka 2-1 - 1) K. Srinivas beat Chamil Cooray 25-10, 25-5 - 2) Riyaz Akbar Ali beat Anees Ahmed 25-8, 25-8 - 3) Sandeep Deorukhkar lost to Nishantha Fernando 25-16, 0-25, 10-25
Women Team Championship Final: India beat Sri Lanka 3-0 - 1) Rashmi Kumari beat Madhushikha 25-5, 25-5 - 2) Kajal Kumari beat Roshita Joseph 13-25, 25-12, 25-4 - 3) Debajani Tamuli beat Chalani 25-5, 25-9


Report submitted by Shri J.V.Sangam
Hon.Asst.Secretary, Maharasthra Carrom Association 
      In the women singles final No. 2 seeded Kajal Kumari of India overcame her teammate Tuba Sehar in a thrilling three game encounter 25-16, 8-25 and 25-7 to annex women singles title for the first time in her career. Earlier in the first semi-final, Tuba caused major upset of the championship by ousting world champion Rashmi Kumari of India in a tense 25-15, 18-25, 25-19 three game encounter to reach the final. In another semi-final, Kajal blanked Arosha of Sri Lanka 25-10, 25-4 in straight games.

     In the men team championship final, India overcame a tough encounter from Sri Lanka before narrowly winning by 2-1 margin. In the women team championship final, India blanked Sri Lanka by 3-0 to retain title. Bangladesh finished 3rd defeating France.

     Men doubles was won by Riyaz and Sandeep who overcame their teammates Yogesh Pardeshi and K.Srinivas 25-10, 25-5 in straight games. The women doubles was won by Rashmi and Tuba defeating Joseph Roshita and Chalani of Sri Lanka 25-21, 22-25, 25-0.

     Swiss League played over 7 seven rounds of one single game, was won by Sandeep Deorukhkar of India, with K.Srinivas of India coming in second, followed by Nishantha Fernando of Sri Lanka in the third place. All of them finished on the same number of points but their game scores determined their final ranking.

     The glittering prize distribution function was held in the presence of Chief Guests Mr. Joseph Mayer-President ICF, Mohammed Saeed-Secretary General of ICF from Maldives. It was presided by Shri Pradeep Kumar Hazarika-Senior Vice President and Shri P.S.Bachher, General Secretary, All India Carrom Federation. Mohammed Saeed announced on that Shri Rakibul Hussain-President AICF has been elected as Executive chairman of the International Carrom Federation in a meeting of Executive committee of ICF.

Victorious Indian Team